About The Florida-Caribbean Cruise Association (FCCA)
FCCA Member Cruise Lines
FCCA Staff Profiles
FCCA Events and Happenings
FCCA's Associate Membership Program
FCCA Publications
FCCA Training and Outreach Program
Research and Statistics
FCCA Charitable Foundation
Cruise Industry Partners
Press and Media

Press Release


Florida-Caribbean Cruise Association Signs Incentive Program with Government of Puerto Rico


Pembroke Pines, FL. (March 31, 2005) – The Member Lines of the Florida-Caribbean Cruise Association (FCCA) on March 14, 2005 signed a Long-Term Agreement with the Government of Puerto Rico to set the Foundation of growth in Puerto Rico through 2011.  “The Agreement will hopefully lead to an increase in visitors from 1.3m to 1.7m annually and will boost the economic impact of the cruise industry on the island from $300m to $500m over a period of five years,” said Hon. Aníbal Acevedo Vilá, Governor of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.


“The goal of this new agreement is to demonstrate our strong commitment to the cruise industry so that cruise lines currently docking on our island continue to keep their scheduled stops at the San Juan piers,” the governor said. 'We also hope to attract new cruise partnerships.'


The Governor is currently undergoing conversations with the House of Representatives in order to establish this incentive program as a formal public policy of the Government and the continuance of the same for the period 2008-2011.


The incentives relate to five areas:

  • Destination Incentive

  • Homeport Frequency Incentive

  • In-Transit Time in Port Incentive

  • Passenger Volume Incentive (by Corporation)

  • Provisioning Incentive.


This new incentive program will create the stability the industry has been seeking with Puerto Rico over the past years and will benefit not only Puerto Rico, but also those islands that are serviced through San Juan’s homeport operations.


“We look forward to a prosperous and long-term partnership with the FCCA and its Member Lines,” stated Terestella Gonzalez-Denton, Executive Director, Puerto Rico Tourism Company.



FCCA is a trade association composed of 11 Member Lines: Carnival Cruise Lines, Celebrity Cruises, Costa Cruise Lines, Cunard Line, Disney Cruise Line, Holland America Line, MSC Cruises (USA) Inc., Norwegian Cruise Line, Princess Cruises, Regent Seven Seas Cruises, Royal Caribbean International, and Windstar Cruises. It was created in 1972 by the Member Lines operating more than 100 vessels in Florida, Caribbean and Mexican waters, in order to discuss and exchange views on issues relating to: legislation, tourism development, ports, safety, security and other cruise industry issues.

Copyright 2019 Florida-Caribbean Cruise Association. All rights reserved. Home | Contact Us | Legal Notice | Site Map | Staff Login